Jay F. NunamakerDr. Jay F. Nunamaker Jr.

Director of CMI, Regents Professor

Dr. Jay F. Nunamaker is Regents Professor and Director of the Center for Management of Information at the University of Arizona. He was a faculty member at Purdue University prior to founding the MIS department at the University of Arizona in 1974. Under his leadership for twenty years, the department has become known for its expertise in collaboration technology and the technical aspects of MIS.

In 1996, Dr. Nunamaker received the DPMA EDSIG Distinguished IS Educator Award. The GroupSystems software resulting from his research received the Editor's Choice Award from PC Magazine, June 14, 1994. At the GroupWare 1993 Conference in San Jose, he received the GroupWare Achievement Award along with recognition of GroupSystems as best of show in the GDSS category. In 1992, he received the Arthur Andersen Consulting Professor of the Year award. Dr. Nunamaker received his Ph.D. in systems engineering and operations research from Case Institute of Technology, a M.S. and B.S. from the University of Pittsburgh, and a B.S. from Carnegie Mellon University. He was an original member of the ISDOS project (PSL/PSA) under the direction of Professor Daniel Teichroew at Case and the University of Michigan from 1965 to 1968.


Judee K. BurgoonDr. Judee K. Burgoon

Director of Human Communication Research

Judee Burgoon is Professor of Communication, Professor of Family Studies and Human Development. She is the Director of Human Communication Research for the Center for the Management of Information and Site Director for Center for Identification Technology Research at the University of Arizona. She holds a doctorate from West Virginia University in communication and educational psychology.

Professor Burgoon has authored or co-authored seven books and monographs and over 240 articles, chapters and reviews related to nonverbal and relational communication, interpersonal relationships, the impact of new communication technologies on human-human and human-computer interaction, research methods, and public opinion toward the media. Her research, which currently centers on deception, trust, interpersonal interaction, and new technologies, has been supported by extramural funding from the Department of Defense, the Department of Homeland Security, the U. S. Army Research Institute's Research and Advanced Concepts Office, the U. S. Army Research Office, the National Institutes of Mental Health, Gannett Foundation, Gannett Co., Inc., and Associated Press Managing Editors, among others.

A past chair of NCA's Publications Board and past Chair of the Interpersonal Communication Division, she has served as Editor of Communication Monographs and has been a member of the editorial board of eleven different journals in communication, psychology, and close relationships. Among her research-related honors are NCA's Golden Anniversary Monographs Award, the Charles H. Woolbert Research Award for Scholarship of Lasting Impact, election as a fellow of the International Communication Association, and election into the Society for Experimental Social Psychology. She is the recipient of ICA's B. Aubrey Fisher Mentorship Award, the University of Arizona's Excellence-in-Teaching Award in Social and Behavioral Sciences, Michigan State University's Teacher-Scholar Award, and Central States Communication Association's Young Teacher Award.

In 1999, she was awarded the National Communication Association's Distinguished Scholar Award, its highest award for a lifetime of scholarly achievement. In 2005, she delivered the Carroll C. Arnold Distinguished Lecture to the NCA. In 2006, she was awarded the Steven Chaffee Career Productivity Award. A recent published survey identified her as the most prolific female scholar in the field of communication in the twentieth century.